Ghostfooting

critical reading for the rude

nostalgic music meme

Top hundred music in the 90s mostly sucked… So this meme I’m tagged with from CW is tricky. I think I’ll mutate it. Here are the 5 top songs that came across my Pandora page in the last couple weeks and why Pandora says I like them so much.

Frank Zappa. Camarillo Brillo, 1973.

basic rock song structures
acoustic rhythm piano
mixed acoustic and electric instrumentation
a busy horn section
major key tonality

John Lennon. I Found Out, 1970.

basic rock song structures
extensive vamping
mixed acoustic and electric instrumentation
minor key tonality
a dynamic male vocalist

Morrissey: Boy Racer, 1998.

hard rock roots
a subtle use of vocal harmony
mixed minor & major key tonality
a smooth male lead vocalist

My Bloody Valentine, Sometimes, 1991.

basic rock song structures
a subtle use of vocal harmony
extensive vamping
major key tonality
heavy electric rhythm guitars
a breathy male lead vocalist
an unintelligible vocal delivery
acoustic rhythm guitars

Brian Eno: Driving Me Backwards, 1974

basic rock song structures
mild rhythmic syncopation
acoustic rhythm piano
repetitive melodic phrasing
mixed acoustic and electric instrumentation
minor key tonality

I’m tagging Angel, Vinay, and Jared with this one.

June 14, 2007 - Posted by | blogs, music

2 Comments »

  1. 90s!! I’d thought you were older 🙂

    Comment by CW | June 14, 2007 | Reply

  2. …did I say “90s”? Uh… I meant 00’s. Yeah… I just got the vote! And, uh, my 30’s are nowhere in sight yet!

    Comment by woody3 | June 15, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

