Ghostfooting

critical reading for the rude

searching searches

I’ve been searching for a search engine that can drill down into catalogues, into other search pages.  Haven’t found exactly what I’m after yet.  Making some preliminary moves to build such a thing.  Very. preliminary. Because. I don’t. Write much code at all, besides a touch of xml, html.  I’m looking at Java.  But most of the Java open-source search engines I’ve found are puttering, muttering, mumbling things that do little more than tell you where a term exists in a given file.  I need something that would let you tell the ‘engine’ which pages to drill down into, and then drill down and search for results from the search engines of those pages.  I don’t have the time, skill, or resources to do anything approaching the creation of some local index of the web.  I need something live — a gadget that fits over existing search engines.  A hearing aid.  Infrared goggles for google.  More as it develops.

March 28, 2007 - Posted by | search

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

